HTML Introduction

Written by

Aayushi Bansal

HTML stands for Hyper text markup language. It is the standard markup language for creating web pages. It describes the structure of a web page.

HTML elements tell the browser what content to display.

There have been 6 versions of HTML till now.

They are HTML, HTML 2.0, HTML 3.2, HTML 4.01, XHTML and HTML 5.

The purpose of the web browser is to read the HTML elements and display them. HTML describes the structure of pages.

Taking an example of a newspaper, for each story, there will be a headline, some text, and possibly some images. If the article is a long piece, there may be subheadings that split the story into separate sections or quotes from those involved. Structure helps readers understand the stories in the newspaper.

Similarly, the HTML structure contains the title, headings, body, sections, etc which you will learn in further chapters. These elements consist of tags.

We will learn more about tags in the next chapter.

HTML Introduction